Board of Directors

Chair Veronica Vargas

Mayor Pro Tem, City of Tracy

Mrs. Veronica Vargas was elected to the Tracy City Council in November 2014. Mrs. Vargas is a native Argentinian and the second oldest of five children. Believing Tracy was the perfect place to live and raise children, her family moved to the city in 1998. Veronica resides in Tracy with her husband Patrick, and they are the proud parents of six children.

Boardmember Paul Akinjo

Councilmember, City of Lathrop

Paul Akinjo has been a resident of Lathrop with his Family for the past thirteen years and was unanimously appointed to the Lathrop City Council in Dec 17th 2012. Paul Akinjo migrated to the United States from Nigeria thirty years ago and had previously resided in the City of Oakland where his involvement as a Community Organizer for Affordable Housing helped to formulate his ideas of giving back to the community (He was a beneficiary of this Organization).

Boardmember Benjamin Cantu

Mayor, City of Manteca

Benjamin Cantu retired from the City of Manteca after working in the Planning and Community Development Department for thirty-five years. His devotion to the community dates back to the 1950's ties when his family moved to Manteca. He is married and has two children.

Boardmember Melissa Hernandez

Mayor, City of Dublin

Melissa has devoted her time in Dublin to community service and is enthusiastic about Dublin’s great quality of life. She heralds Dublin as a special place to raise her family as a mother of two school-aged children, a 15-year-old son and an 11-year-old daughter.

Boardmember Sol Jobrack

Councilmember, City of Stockton

Councilmember Sol Jobrack is serving his first term on the Stockton City Council representing District 1 beginning January 2019. Councilmember Jobrack has served as the Stockton Planning Commissioner for the past four years, also representing District 1. He is dedicated to serving the community.

Boardmember John McPartland

Director, BART

Alameda County native John McPartland was elected to represent District #5, which includes Dublin, Hayward (partial), Livermore, Pleasanton and Unincorporated Alameda County (partial).

Boardmember Karen Stepper

Mayor, Town of Danville

Karen Stepper was first elected to the Town Council in 2002. During her 16-year tenure, she has served as Mayor in 2006, 2011, and 2016. In her role as a council member, Karen has served on numerous local and regional committees to preserve Danville decisions and standards that make our historic town unique, including: Current Chair CCC Mayors Conference, Director/ Campaign Chair 2012 Veterans Building, Director/board member for: “Emergency Preparedness” Citizen’s Corp Council, RecycleSmart Solid Waste Authority, CC Transportation Authority, Tri-Valley Transportation Council, Traffix (Congestion Relief Agency), East Bay Economic Development Alliance (Co- Chair Membership), San Joaquin Tri-Valley Rail Authority, I-Gate Innovation Hub, East Bay Regional Communications Systems Authority, League of California Cities Revenue & Tax Policy Committee.

Boardmember Kathy Narum

Vice Mayor, City of Pleasanton

Kathy Narum was elected to the Pleasanton City Council in May, 2013 to fill the seat vacated when then-Councilmember Jerry Thorne was elected as Mayor. She was re-elected to the Council in 2014. A 19-year resident of Pleasanton, she has a lengthy background of civic and volunteer work in Pleasanton and has been actively involved in local government for more than a decade.

Boardmember Bernice Tingle

President, Mountain House Community Services District

No stranger to the concept of volunteerism, the MHCSD Board Director and Vice President Bernice Tingle has been serving her community since she was 15 years old. As a high school student in Oakland, CA, Director Tingle tutored students in the subjects of English and Mathematics. "Oftentimes through the experience, I ended up learning just as much as the student who I was tutoring," said Tingle.

Boardmember Bob Woerner

Boardmember, LAVTA

Bob Woerner is a 36 year resident of Livermore and was appointed to the City Council in January of 2012. As a Councilmember, Bob represents the City of Livermore on intergovernmental agencies including the Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority,, and the Downtown Subcommittee. Prior to his appointment to the City Council, Bob served on the Planning Commission.

Boardmember Leo Zuber

Vice Chair, ACE

Leo Zuber has been part of the Ripon community since 1979 and a resident since 1985. He came to Ripon as the principal of Ripon Elementary School and in the next 32 years, served in a variety of school district administrative positions. He retired in 2008 after serving as the school district’s superintendent for 15 years.

© 2020, Tri-Valley - San Joaquin Valley Regional Rail Authority